Sunday Treats

A few weeks ago, some of you may have noticed I made an attempt at a 21-day, gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free cleanse, in “Going Gluten-free?“.

While an honest attempt, hot sunny days and wine on patios seemed more important. However, I do notice how much better I feel when I eliminate (or at least reduce) some of these things from my day to day life.

So, you’ll see me exploring more recipes and taste testing new yummy things. I’ll share recipes as I try them so you can enjoy the deliciousness too!

Today’s Sunday afternoon projects included Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies and Watermelon Coconut Water…

Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan and gluten-free!)

Voila!

Not only are these gluten-free, they are also dairy-free and egg-free. I was pleasantly surprised at how incredibly divine these turned out!

Found the recipe on Elana’s Pantry (she has lots of yummy recipes), but made a couple of minor tweaks. Here’s my version:

  • 2 1/2 cups ground almonds
  • 1 tsp sea salt (her recipe calls for 1/2 tsp, but I like the sweet and salty combination)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder (she uses a 1/2 tsp baking soda, which I didn’t use at all in an attempt to fluff ’em up some more)
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour (she didn’t use this at all either – it was part of my attempt to make them a little fluffier)
  • 1/2 cup grapeseed oil
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 2 tsp ground flax seed (mixed with a couple tablespoons of water – another addition so the batter would stick together better)*
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips (some extras, just because)
  1. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl
  2. Stir together wet ingredients in a smaller bowl
  3. Mix wet ingredients into dry
  4. Form 1-inch balls and press onto a baking sheet oiled with a dab extra of your grapeseed oil
  5. Bake at 350° for 7-10 minutes
  6. Cool and serve

* Ground flax seed and a dash of water are a great egg substitute for baking. Gives that sticky texture, without the egg!

I baked mine closer to the 10 minute mark because they were a bit thick, but kept a very close eye on them. The coconut flour was a wonderful addition. – a bit of a nutty flavour (kind of like macaroons).

Refreshing Watermelon and Coconut Water

  • 3 cups of watermelon (cubed)
  • 1 cup pure coconut water (O.N.E. is a favourite of mine)
  • 1/2 squeezed lime
  • Ice (lots of it)

Blend your first three ingredients and pour over ice! So good. I found this little gem from here. Next time, I’ll remember my mint sprigs.

That’s all for now. Happy Sunday!

xo

2 thoughts on “Sunday Treats

  1. Jacklyn, I love your site, especially the wallpaper. I wish more people had your attitude. The world would be a happier place!

Leave a Reply

